Corporate Governance

  • Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The Community Finance Ltd has a fully-fledged Board of Directors charged with responsibility for setting the direction of the company through the establishment of strategic objectives and key policies. The board meets quarterly, settles the strategic mission and is responsible for the overall direction and control of the company. The board consisted of Five non-executive directors and two executive directors. The chairman is a non-executive director and has a casting vote. The corporate board is responsible to shareholders, but it proceeds mindful of the interests of the company’s staff, customers, partners, suppliers and the communities in which the company pursues its interests.


Mrs. Ruth Mkutumula is Non-Executive Director and Board Chairperson of Community Finance Ltd with a span of more than 12 years’ experience in strategic and general management at both Executive and Non-Executive leadership positions. She is a recognised expert in rural and social development, and has extensive experience in Policy matters, Project Management, and Organisational development. Prior to the current role, she has served in several Boards and is currently Executive Director of Disabled Women in Africa (DIWA. She holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Social Science, Advanced Diploma Development Studies and Certificate in Financial Management


Non-Executive Director and Group Chair


Mr. McDonald Kabondo is Non-Executive Director of Community Finance Ltd. He has more than 15 years of progressive professional experience at Senior Level Executive in the Corporate, Parastastal and INGOs with extensive hands-on experience in People Management with focus on compensation and benefits, performance culture and management, talent development, employee engagement, and operation management. He holds Masters Arts in Human Resources Management and Bachelors in Social Science and Certificate in Social and Organisational Change.


Non-Executive Director and Chair


Ms. Lerato Lekhoaba is an economist with over 12 years’ experience in SMEs Consulting, Microfinance, Supply Chain Management and general Management. She has expertise in value chain development, private sector development, crafting Public-Private alliance, Cooperative Development, and SMEs development. She has championed design of new business models for growing SMEs in Africa and led in several high-level projects implementation for rural economic transformation in Agriculture, Manufacturing and Financial Services. She is an international certified trainer and coach for enterprise development. She holds Master’s degree in Public Sector Management and Bachelor of Economics & Statistics and Post Graduate Diploma in Cooperative Development.


Executive Director and CEO


Mr. Calvin Kamchacha is Executive Director and Corporate strategist with over 15 years of experience in agricultural trade, SMEs consulting and banking. He has held Senior managerial and Board positions in International Corporations, local non-governmental organizations and large government parastatal companies. As Executive Director, Mr. Kamchacha is instrumental in providing overall leadership and strategic direction for the growth of the Company. He holds Master’s Degree of Business Administration (MBA), and Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration (BBA) from Malawi Institute of Management. He has also taken post graduate courses in banking, Trade, consulting and general management


Executive Director


Mrs Debrah Phiri Mjima is a Financial expert with more than 10 years’ experience. She is Non-Executive Director at Community Finance Ltd. She has worked in Public and International NGOs at Senior Management as Financial expert. She holds Bachelor of Applied Accounting Audit and Information System and understudy MBA and ACCA.


Non-Executive Director


Fredrick Mzoma is Non-Executive Director of Community Finance Ltd. He is a retired Civil Servant and has more than 25 years of progressive professional experience at Senior Level Executive as Principal Secretary in Government. He is an expert and qualified chartered professional of Procurement and Supply Chain Management.


Non-Executive Director